Salts Mill

Bradford, West Yorkshire

Sa structure victorienne regorge de commerçants indépendants.

Lire la suite … Fermer ×

Si vous cherchez un "Marks & Spencers", vous allez être déçu.

Salt’s Mill, près de Bradford, est probablement la seule galerie commerciale du pays à refuser les grandes marques, et grand bien leur en a pris ! Au lieu de ça, cette ancienne lainerie de l'époque victorienne regorge de commerçants indépendants.

Vous pourrez trouver un costume parfaitement taillé chez Salt’s Bespoke Tailors, laisser s'exprimer vos émotions sur un tambourin médiéval au Early Music Shop ou acheter des roses jaunes naturelles chez Opera Florist. Et il y a autant à voir qu'à s'offrir.

Les hauts plafonds et grandes fenêtres en arc font de cet espace au style cathédrale l'endroit idéal pour une exposition d'art. Ses quatre galeries abritent la plus grande collection d'œuvres de David Hockney, notamment ses autoportraits, des scènes de Bradford et son célèbre cliché d'un terrain de tennis, faxé directement de son studio de Los Angeles en 1990.

La fabrique est le point central de Saltaire, un village modèle et site classé au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, créé par Sir Titus Salt pour ses ouvriers en 1853. En vous promenant parmi les Almshouses, l'hôpital et les rangées nettes de bâtisses, vous oublierez vite la foule de l'artère principale de votre localité.

 

Pour plus d’informations sur le tourisme local:

Me montrer plus de résultats similaires :

Fermer

Customer survey …

VisitEngland would like to invite you to take part in a short survey about our website.

It should take no more than a couple of minutes.

Please click here to be taken to the survey

Close

To add items to favourites …

… you need to be logged in.

If you already have an account, log in.

Or register a new account

Industry meets art at Salts Mill

Bradford, West Yorkshire

Packed to its Victorian rafters with independent traders and the largest collection of David Hockney’s work.

Read more … Close ×

If you’re looking for a “Marks & Sparks” here, you’ll be disappointed.

Salt’s Mill, near Bradford, is probably the only shopping mall in the country that says ‘no’ to big brands (good on ‘em). Instead this former woollen mill is packed to its Victorian rafters with independent traders.

Get a perfectly-fitting suit at Salt’s Bespoke Tailors, take out your aggression on a mediaeval tabor drum at the Early Music Shop or pick up some organic yellow roses at the Opera Florist. But there’s as much to see as there is to buy.

The high ceilings and large arched windows make this cathedral-like space the ideal place to display art. Its four galleries house the world’s largest collection of David Hockney’s work, including self-portraits, Bradford scenes and his famous tennis print – which was faxed directly from his LA studio in 1990.

The mill is the focal point of Saltaire, a model village and UNESCO World Heritage Site, created by Sir Titus Salt for his workers in 1853. And as you walk among the almshouses, hospital and rows of neat terraces, you’ll quickly forget the queues and crowds of your local high street.

For more local tourist information:

Refine your search:

Previous slide
VSalts Mill © Visit England Images
SSalts Mill gallery © VisitBritain
Next slide

Latest Twitter updates

Latest Facebook updates

Close

Customer survey …

VisitEngland would like to invite you to take part in a short survey about our website.

It should take no more than a couple of minutes.

Please click here to be taken to the survey

Close

To add items to favourites …

… you need to be logged in.

If you already have an account, log in.

Or register a

Access your account

Enter your e-mail address.
Enter the password that accompanies your e-mail.
Forgot your password? Recover your account
Don't have an account? Register an account