A rare opportunity to view a 17th century house of the type many of us might have lived in.
The House of Thomas Bayly was built following the Great Fire of Marlborough in 1653. During 1653 – 1700, a fine timber and brick building was constructed, its interior panelled, wall paintings added and its commanding oak staircase restored.
A substantial amount of this fabric survives and hidden painted decoration is still being revealed. Conservation still takes place here making the Merchant's House a special and unique visitor attraction.
Each year more of its splendours are being revealed and many visitors return regularly to view progress on the project.