Operating for more than 120 years, The Roman Baths and Pump Room is owned and managed by Bath & North East Somerset Council.
Set in the natural heart of Bath, the Roman Baths were built nearly 2,000 years ago around Britain’s only hot springs. Subsequent developments in the Middle Ages and Georgian period have added to the historical complexity and interest of this unique site. The Baths were re-discovered in the 1880s and opened to visitors in 1897. The Temple Precinct was excavated beneath the Pump Room in 1981–83 and added to the attraction. The Roman Baths appeals to visitors of all ages from around the world. In recent years it has focused on making the site more accessible physically and intellectually, to help people with a range of accessibility requirements and those from overseas, which has given the added benefit of making a more engaging and enjoyable visit for everyone.
VisitEngland would like to invite you to take part in a short survey about our website.
It should take no more than a couple of minutes.