Woburn Abbey

Woburn, Bedfordshire

Seit fast 400 Jahren Residenz der Dukes of Bedford.

Weiterlesen … Schließen ×

Zeit ist heutzutage etwas Kostbares und die Ansprüche an einen Tagesausflug werden immer höher.Die Menschen wollen bewegende Kunst genießen, Ehrfurcht gebietende Architektur bestaunen, exotische Tiere beobachten und sich in atemberaubenden Landschaften verlieren.

Und warum auch nicht, wenn Orte wie Woburn Abbey das und vieles mehr zu bieten haben.Auf Kunstliebhaber wartet hier die Privatsammlung der Abtei, die Gemälde von Van Dyck, Gainsborough und Canaletto sowie das berühmte 1588 von George Gower gemalte Armada-Porträt von Elizabeth I. umfasst. Tatsächlich sind hier überall Anzeichen des feinen Geschmacks zu finden. Sie lauern in allen möglichen Ecken und Winkeln in Form von französischen Möbeln aus dem 18. Jahrhundert oder seltenem Porzellan in der Krypta.Doch auch außerhalb dieses Anwesens im Stil des Palladianismus wird Ihnen einiges geboten. Spazieren Sie durch wunderschöne Gärten, verlieren Sie sich im Irrgarten um die Pagode oder lehnen Sie sich in den 300 Jahre alten Grotten zurück und atmen Sie die Luft Bedfordshires.

Tierfreunde können im Wildpark die größte Davidhirschherde Großbritanniens beobachten oder sich im Safaripark in eine Savanne begeben, die mit ihren frei umherziehenden Nashörnern, Zebras, Büffeln und Giraffen direkt aus Afrika zu stammen scheint.Wenn das für Sie noch nicht genug Action für einen Tag war, wie wäre es dann mit einer anderen einzigartigen Erfahrung, bevor Sie sich auf den Weg heimwärts machen?

Runden Sie den Tag in echtem englischen Stil mit einem Nachmittagstee im Blue Drawing Room ab, in dem diese Tradition geboren wurde.Und nicht vergessen: Immer schön hoch mit dem kleinen Finger.

 

Weitere Attraktionen dieser Art anzeigen:

Schließen

Customer survey …

VisitEngland would like to invite you to take part in a short survey about our website.

It should take no more than a couple of minutes.

Please click here to be taken to the survey

Close

To add items to favourites …

… you need to be logged in.

If you already have an account, log in.

Or register a new account

Woburn Abbey

Woburn, Bedfordshire

The home of the Dukes of Bedford for nearly 400 years.

Read more … Close ×

Time is precious nowadays and people expect more and more from their days out. They want to be moved by fine art, left awe-struck by grand designs, witness exotic animals charging around, and lose themselves in the great outdoors.

And why not, when places like Woburn Abbey offer all this and more. Art aficionados will lap up the Abbey’s private collection which includes paintings by Van Dyck, Gainsborough and Canaletto as well as the famous Armada Portrait of Elizabeth I painted by George Gower in 1588. In fact, examples of fine taste are everywhere, lurking in nooks and crannies, from 18th century French furniture to the rare porcelain in the crypt. And when you finally leave the Palladian mansion, the fun starts all over again. You can wander around the beautiful gardens, lose yourself in the pagoda maze, or sit in the 300 year old Grottoes and breath in the Bedfordshire air.

Animal lovers can witness the UK’s largest herd of Pere David Deer in the Deer park or drive around a savannah straight out of Africa with rhinos, zebras, buffalos and giraffe roaming freely in the safari park. If that wasn’t enough action for one day, there’s still time to squeeze in one more unique experience before heading home.

Round off your day in quintessential English style with afternoon tea at the Blue Drawing Room where the custom was invented. We’ll raise a pinky to that.

 

Show me more like this:

Close

Customer survey …

VisitEngland would like to invite you to take part in a short survey about our website.

It should take no more than a couple of minutes.

Please click here to be taken to the survey

Close

To add items to favourites …

… you need to be logged in.

If you already have an account, log in.

Or register a new account