Hangers Way

Alton, Hampshire

Wanderroute für Geschichtsfans entlang der steilen, dicht bewaldeten Hänge der East Hampshire Hangers.

Weiterlesen … Schließen ×

Dieser 33 km lange Wanderweg führt vom Städtchen Alton über die steilen, dicht bewaldeten Hänge der East Hampshire Hangers bis nach Petersfield und endet dort im Queen Elizabeth Country Park.Aber keine Angst: Sie müssen nicht alles auf einmal schaffen.

Wenn Ihnen eher nach einem lockeren Spaziergang als einem strengen Marsch ist, können Sie den Hangers Way auch in bekömmlichere Abschnitte von drei bis sechs Kilometern einteilen. Und wenn Sie ein Geschichtsfan sind, dann werden Sie diesen Weg lieben.Für welchen Teil Sie sich auch immer entscheiden, es gibt zahlreiche faszinierende Zwischenstopps einzulegen: z. B. beim aus dem 15. Jahrhundert stammenden Abbild der Ehefrau Chaucers in East Worldham, dem bezaubernden Dörfchen Selborne (in dem einst der berühmte Naturforscher Gilbert White lebte) oder am 1233 gegründeten Priorat von Selborne.Darüber hinaus stoßen Sie auf dem Weg auf Grabhügel und Siedlungsstätten aus der Bronze- und Eisenzeit und können auch dem Geist eines Mönchs begegnen, der angeblich am Oakhanger Stream spukt…

Sollten Sie schließlich die Shoulder of Mutton Hill hinaufsteigen, dürfen Sie auf keinen Fall den Poet’s Stone verpassen – dieser Stein ist dem Gedenken an den hiesigen Dichter Edward Thomas gewidmet, der in der Schlacht von Arras im Jahr 1917 fiel. Angesichts all dessen, was es hier zu entdecken gibt, werden Sie am Ende vielleicht doch alles auf einmal angehen…

 

Für weitere Touristeninformationszentren vor Ort:

Weitere Attraktionen dieser Art anzeigen:

Previous slide
Copyright Peter Lewis-Jones
Copyright Peter Lewis-Jones
Copyright Peter Lewis-Jones
Copyright Peter Lewis-Jones
Copyright Peter Lewis-Jones
Next slide
Schließen

Customer survey …

VisitEngland would like to invite you to take part in a short survey about our website.

It should take no more than a couple of minutes.

Please click here to be taken to the survey

Close

To add items to favourites …

… you need to be logged in.

If you already have an account, log in.

Or register a new account

Hangers Way

Alton, Hampshire

Walking route for history buffs along the steep, densely wooded East Hampshire Hangers.

Read more … Close ×

This is actually a 21-mile (33 km) walking route, which starts in the town of Alton, follows the steep, densely wooded East Hampshire Hangers to the market town of Petersfield – and finishes at the Queen Elizabeth Country Park. But fear not: you don’t have to tackle it all in one go.

If you’re after more of a gentle ramble than a full-on hike, the good news is that it can be divided up into bite-size sections of around two and four miles. And if you’re a history buff, you’ll love it. Whichever section you go for there are various fascinating stop-offs: like the 15th-century effigy of Chaucer’s wife in East Worldham, the charming village of Selborne (once home to Gilbert White, the famous naturalist) and Selbourne Priory, which was founded in 1233. Not only that but there are several Bronze- and Iron-Age burial mounds and settlement sites, along with the ghost of a monk – said to haunt the Oakhanger stream…

One thing you definitely shouldn’t miss, if you end up climbing Shoulder of Mutton Hill is the Poet’s Stone – the monument dedicated to the memory of local poet Edward Thomas, who was killed at the Battle of Arras in 1917. With all that to explore, maybe you will end up doing the whole lot in one go..

 

For more local tourist information:

Show me more like this:

Previous slide
H© Peter Lewis-Jones
H© Peter Lewis-Jones
H© Peter Lewis-Jones
H© Peter Lewis-Jones
H© Peter Lewis-Jones
Next slide
Lat: 51.152525, Long: -0.967973
View on Google MapsMore experiences nearby
Close

Customer survey …

VisitEngland would like to invite you to take part in a short survey about our website.

It should take no more than a couple of minutes.

Please click here to be taken to the survey

Close

To add items to favourites …

… you need to be logged in.

If you already have an account, log in.

Or register a new account